It Wont Fit….

It Wont Fit….

So via a friend of a friend (you get my jist), we ‘borrowed’ a car to use for the duration of our short stay in lovely La Romana.  With quite a long list of things to do during our stay, we were hugely grateful for the use of the vehicle.  It did give us a source of enjoyment and we frequently had bets on whether it would start or not…. which in fact it did – every time.

Over the past few months, Darren and I have been squirrelling things away for the house – recycling where possible – or should I say upcycling which is now the favourable term.  Anyway, I had arranged to collect what was sold to me as a double mattress as all we had in our Spanish house was a set of bunk beds and a blow up mattress – none of which have any appeal to me.  We spent one night – out of absolute bear-grills necessity – on the blow up bed and that was quite enough.  Blow up beds are surprisingly noisy and Darren and I spent the night looking at each other in quite an accusatory manner fearing that the noise had in fact come from somewhere else.  He assured me that it was the bed.  I just enjoyed making noises, and blaming it on the bed!   I do make my own little scenarios up and am often found chuckling away to myself – and in fact I probably look quite mad.  Which I’m not.  Well not all the time anyway.

8346f0_af63fe9a37b24ccdaedf0721da148611Back to the mattress.  Now that we had wheels (of a description), we thought we would take the boys out for a spin around the area – well that’s what we told them anyway.  The truth was that they were being comandeered unwillingly to assist with the collection of the aforementioned mattress from a neighbouring village.  All paid for – just needed collecting.  Simple.  Or so we thought.

Slight problem when we set off.  I’m so used to Darren’s car in the UK having roof bars, that it didn’t occur to me that the car in Spain would be void of these!  Which it was of course.  Plan B.  Rope.  And lots of it.  Easy – we’ll just strap the mattress (afterall its only a double) to the car roof and all will be fine.  Not.

We all had a nice pleasant drive out.  All in good humour.  We had water.  And we had wheels.  The pool was proving a problem, but that’s another story!

The village was found reasonably easily, though the house less so.  As is the way in Spain, everyone just vanishes from the streets – except of course for that dear old man who’s always to be found sitting on a bench or at a bus stop wearing a tweed jacket and hat (despite the heat), smoking on his pipe and passing the time of day.  Why is this?  Afternoons are always for siestas – which I rather like.  But what about evenings?  Where is everyone then?  We splattered and spluttered to a halt outside the house where the mattress was located and roused its occupants – though I supsect they had probably heard us from miles away – the car did make a lot of not-going-to-start-again noises – as already mentioned.

We’re here to collect the mattress I announce rather jovily to the bemused people now stood at the front door – thankfully they were English so no mad gesticulating hand movements or speaking v-e-r- y slowly required.  Darren and I went into the  house and tried to pick up the ‘double’ mattress – which in fact we now know to be a large kingsize.  We shuffled and groaned and dragged and pulled this blasted mattress out to the street where my two sons were gobsmacked by the spectacle – though not quite sure why as (a) did they think the mattress would come in a small carrier bag, and (b) surely by now they are used to a mother such as myself?  ‘Encouraging’ them in to help is a bit like herding cats.  Bribery.  That always works.   So – bribery in place  (tho I cant remember what form of ‘persuasion’ was used that time – may have been something to do with the (blasted) pool that was refusing to behave – seems a theme this trip me thinks?), we tackled the mattress.

8346f0_9fe10764e8c4425dabe6e3d4b62a5504
Both the boys were required to help lift the mattress onto the roof of the car.  I should mention that the car was covered in a thick layer of dust and I was therefore ‘helpfully’ shouting instructions that they needed to lift it higher… or over a bit…. or up a bit… or down a bit… in order to avoid the muck on the car.  Out comes the rope – easy.  Just wrap the rope around the mattress, through the car somehow – and we’ll be away.  Not quite.  By this time, the mattress’s previous owners had discretely retired to their house but were no doubt looking through the window at what could only be described as some sort of carry on film.

Rope on mattress… rope around mattress… through car doors… back over… tied a tight knot – and then we realised that in fact Darren had roped all the car doors shut – thereby rendering it impossible to get in – or out as in Tom’s case – of the car.
8346f0_886e23f33b9046d2b4354a734d42d3fe
After we had picked ourselves up from the floor from hysterical laughter, we tried again.  Rope on matress…around mattress…through OPEN car doors….back over…and tied in a knot.  All done, my jubilent husband says.  Ok let’s go.  We drive away with the end of the mattress flapping down over the windscreen considerably.  We pull over… bit of fuddling with the position of the mattress… and off we go again …in fact, looking like a real spectacle.  Getting a bit of speed up – by which I mean 25mph – meant the front end of the mattress then reared its head like a cobra – a slightly alarming situation and I had visions of it pulling off completely and landing across the windscreen of some poor motorist behind us.  Pull over.  Again.  Bit of fiddling with knots by the men folk then off we go again.  Front starts veering up so in fact what we had to do is all hang one arm out of the window and drive along holding the mattress down…. a bit like how posers do it in their shiny, pumped-up-music cars.  So there we were driving along in this strange manner with all sorts of weird double-taking looks.
We thought it would be character-building for the boys to drive through La Romana with our cargo bestowed on the car – so we did.  I’m not sure the boys have ever recovered.But at least we have a nice mattress on which to sleep – thereby meaning that I have nothing to blame if there are any noises – similar to those when an airbed moves…I try to blame my husband – but he’s far too astute for that!  Guess it will have to be the dog’s fault next time!
It Wont Fit….

Leave a comment